Associate Member of the Year

Each year, this award honours a CAEM member (Associate and/or Expo) who, through tireless and selfless involvement with the association, has proven exceptional leadership and achievement. The Member of the Year consistently makes outstanding contributions to the CAEM and the Canadian exposition industry throughout the past year.

Associate Member of the Year Award Criteria:

  • Outstanding and continuing volunteer commitment to CAEM over the past year.
  • Membership in CAEM for at least two years.
  • Current member in good-standing.
  • Participation on the CAEM Board of Directors, or at least one CAEM Committee, during the past year.

2017 Associate Member of the Year: Bev Hill

Bev Hill, Director of Business Development, onPeak | GES

Introductory Speech by Tony Gallagher, CEM:

Our 2017 Associate Member of the Year has been a big CAEM contributor for a number of years.  Our 2017 Associate Member of the Year has been a big CAEM contributor for a number of years.  This individual joined CAEM in 2008 and didn’t waste any time getting involved in committee work.  One of the notable accomplishments was Co-Chairing the Social Committee in Ottawa/Gatineau in 2014, and many of you here know about the great social events in Ottawa.

When you stand out by doing good work on committees for CAEM that sometimes means you are asked to step up and serve on the Board of Directors.  This person accepted the invitation without hesitation and then took on the daunting task of chairing the 2016 CAEM Conference in PEI.  In the years that conference is held outside Ontario, the committee has to work just that little bit harder to appeal to the national membership, and this 2016 committee co-chair did CAEM proud as evidenced by our strong attendance numbers in PEI.  A problem solver, a collaborator, a great listener and a wonderful sense of humour.  All pre-requisites for a CAEM member of distinction.

This individual is a wonderful ambassador for CAEM and our industry every day, but went the extra mile in 2016.  This individual’s dedication and commitment are a perfect example of why they are so deserving of our recognition tonight.

Please join me in congratulating the 2017 Associate Member of the Year, Bev Hill from onPeak | GES.

Acceptance Speech by Bev Hill:

Thank you Tony and to those that nominated me for this award. Since I attended my first CAEM Awards Gala I have secretly been hoping to be nominated for the Rising Star award but I will happily accept this one. This is the first award I’ve ever received and it is truly awesome! Definitely the highlight of my career as was the opportunity to co-chair the Conference last year. After more than 25 years in the industry it is really neat to be presented with new challenges and first time experiences. I am grateful to Sherry and the board for their faith in me and I am very lucky to have been paired with Nancy Milani. As you all know it takes a small army to put together an event and we were smart enough to recruit a talented and creative group of Sub-Committee chairs: Kristin McIntyre, Isabella Wai, Bianca Kennedy, Elani P, Laurie Paetz, Catherine McNutt, Karen Maki, Kyle Dugan, Darryl Andre and Jennifer Holland. A big thanks to all of them and their many volunteers, too many to mention now, but they all helped to provide us with a top notch program of education and fun networking events. A special thanks to the CAEM staff, Serge, Michael, Christiane and Danielle for keeping us on track and for their much needed advice. Most importantly a big thanks to everyone who attended the conference and brought all our plans to life resulting in one of the best Conferences ever.

I am glad I decided to join CAEM 6 years ago and volunteered for a committee from the start. I’ve really enjoyed meeting so many of you, this is a group of people who are very committed to improving our industry, creating quality events and helping each other out but also know how to have a good time. This year I am chairing the Social Committee for the Conference in Niagara Falls and we have put together some not to be missed events, I hope you will all plan to be there.

Thanks to my GES colleagues for being here tonight to help me celebrate and a special thanks to my partner in life, Dave Bennett who puts up with my crazy schedule and still does not understand what it is that I do every day.

Finally, I would like to say a special thanks to my friend Rena Menzies who encouraged me to volunteer for the social committee shortly after I joined CAEM and I have been involved with that committee in one way or another ever since. It has been the perfect committee for me as planning parties is one of my favourite things, now I’ve won an award for it. Thank you CAEM!

Past Winners of the Associate Member of the Year Award

2017: Bev Hill, onPeak | GES

2016: Tony Gallagher, CEM, GES Global Experience Specialists

2015: Mike Klemm, CEM, GES Global Experience Specialists

2014: Dion Burt, LANGE

2013: Missy Lichtenberger, CMP, CEM, Scotiabank Convention Centre

2012: Mike Russell – the Toronto Congress Centre

2011: Paul Urben – The Commerce Trade Show Logistics Group Ltd.

2010: Leslie Bruce, CEM – International Centre

2009: Sonia Moffatt, CEM – Freeman

2007: Gilles Bouchard – STRONCO

2006: Julie Brown – Reed Exhibitions; Erin Wade – Sheraton Gateway Hotel

2004: Deborah Dugan, C.D.E., CEM – CONEXSYS Registration Ltd.

2003: Marcela Marijosius – Wyndham Bristol Place Hotel

2001: Greg Smith – LANGE

2000: Ian Kerry – Freeman

1999: Rena Menzies – GES CANADA Exposition Service